04
Sep
09

Look! Come! Experience!

In my personal worship this morning, I read of the first disciples that Jesus called as John the Baptist declared, “Look!  There is the Lamb of God!”  It occurred to me that there are a number of things this brief passage teaches us about His invitation to us to follow Him and what the experience entails.

John 1:35-42

35 The following day John was again standing with two of his disciples.  36 As Jesus walked by, John looked at him and declared, “Look! There is the Lamb of God!”  37 When John’s two disciples heard this, they followed Jesus.

38 Jesus looked around and saw them following. “What do you want?” he asked them.

They replied, “Rabbi” (which means “Teacher”), “where are you staying?”

39 “Come and see,” he said. It was about four o’clock in the afternoon when they went with him to the place where he was staying, and they remained with him the rest of the day.

40 Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, was one of these men who heard what John said and then followed Jesus.  41 Andrew went to find his brother, Simon, and told him, “We have found the Messiah” (which means “Christ”*).

42 Then Andrew brought Simon to meet Jesus. Looking intently at Simon, Jesus said, “Your name is Simon, son of John—but you will be called Cephas” (which means “Peter”*).

  • When we point people to Jesus, we are doing the most loving and powerful thing we can ever do as a human being and as a Christ follower.  John’s life-purpose was to point people to Jesus, the Lamb of God.  When we introduce people to Jesus, what do we tell them about Him?  Do we say, “He will meet your needs” or “He will make you happy” or “He will solve your problems and give you a healthy self-esteem”?  John said earlier (1:29) that Jesus is the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world.  He recognized that the primary need of every person is to deal with his or her sin.  Jesus came to take away our sins by dying for them and granting us forgiveness and His righteousness when we place our faith in Him.
  • Our goal is for people to follow us only to eventually follow Christ.  I am always amazed at Paul’s confidence when he said, “You should follow my example as I follow Christ’s” (1 Cor. 11:1).  Then, in my amazement, I realize that is exactly what I need to be able to say.  It makes my walk with Christ even more a matter of responsibility when I understand that my life is to point others to Christ.
  • Jesus invites us to join Him in His kingdom and purpose.  When these guys said, “Jesus, where are you staying?” they weren’t asking about a physical location as much as gaining an understanding about what Jesus was all about.  They wanted to know what His life and work was all about.  Do we long to know the Giver more than the gift?
  • Spending time with Jesus convinces us of His identity and truth.  When Andrew had spent some time with Jesus, He quickly came to realize that this was actually Messiah…the promised One.  He got excited and He was ready to follow Him and share this news with others.  I wonder sometimes if I spend enough time with Jesus to really know Him…and to hear the truth He wants to speak to me.  It will impact my relationships when I do.
  • If we love people, we will want them to meet Jesus.  Andrew went and called his brother, Simon.  This was good and he wanted to share it.  I want my family and friends to be in on the good things I discover and experience.  I want to share.  We have the most awesome truth in Jesus; do we share it like we appreciate it as such?
  • When we come into relationship with Jesus, He changes us.  Jesus changed Simon’s name to Peter.  This means “stone” and was prophetic concerning who Peter would become as a Christ follower.  He would become a strong rock in his faith and play an important role in the Kingdom.  When we come into true relationship with Jesus, we experience change (2 Cor. 5:17).  That change involves a lifelong process and looks a little different in every individual.  The goal is to become like Christ…made in His image (Rom. 8:29).

I want my life to parallel this process…Look!  Come!  Experience!  What do I mean by that?

LOOK! I want to do life in such as way that I am constantly pointing people to Jesus (overtly and subtly).

COME! I want Jesus to be inviting people to come to Him through me.  My life should exhibit something they want and create a thirst for it.

EXPERIENCE! I want to experience a vibrant relationship with Jesus and to share that with those who are in my circle of influence…producing disciples.

If I’m able to pull it off, I will not have wasted my existence.

0 Responses to “Look! Come! Experience!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

eFlections Review

My Facebook


