19
Sep
09

Enough!…

…I’m not sure I know much about that.  I tend to go too far too often.  I sometimes don’t know when enough is enough.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not necessarily a narcissist…not any more than the typical human at least.  But I tend to go at something I like and reach a point beyond saturation before I realize it.  Whether it’s chocolate, potato chips, working out or Saturday morning slumber, I don’t always know when enough is enough.  Can you relate?

candy bar bite

It is when I am at my best in the disciplines of my life that I am realizing when I have enough…my time in the Word, my praise and worship and my control of the flesh.  A life that is disciplined and balanced is a life that knows how to reach that point of ENOUGH!  This is something I continue to learn and pursue.  God is gracious in teaching me.  I am a better student at times than others…not enough!  Enough is to satisfy…my needs, my goals, my purpose in life (John 4:23), my Father’s desires for me.  Enough is SATISFACTION!

When it comes to my relationships, there really isn’t enough.  What I mean is…my wife isn’t enough for me, and I am not enough for her.  My friends are not enough for me and I am not enough for them.  We can try…we can be the best spouse or friend that anyone can be, but we can’t be enough.  God didn’t make us to be enough.  My wife can be a wife to me and I can be a husband to her, but that isn’t enough.  My best friend can be the BEST friend anyone can be and I can return the favor, but that isn’t enough.  You see, we were designed by our Creator to be made complete by the only One who can be enough for us…Himself!  He IS ENOUGH.

Think about that…if we say God is enough and really mean it, we are saying we don’t need anyone or anything else to satisfy us.  They may fill important roles in our lives, but they aren’t the ultimate satisfaction of our souls.  Can we say that?  It’s true if we are honest.  It is true whether we are honest or not.  However, if we come to terms with that truth, it will revolutionize our lives.  He is enough and my soul longs for Him with a thirst that is insatiable.

Psalm 42:1-2
As the deer pants for streams of water,
so I long for you, O God.
I thirst for God, the living God.
When can I come and stand before him?
1 Response to “Enough!…”


  1. 1 L. Lovell
    September 19, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Thank you for the thoughts Randy. Truly, the Almighty “is enough and my soul longs for Him with a thirst that is insatiable!” Some days that longing even aches. I realize more and more as the days pass, that I am in absolute need of my Heavenly Father, my Sovereign and Master. I have come to realize, the more my eyes are off of the things of this world, the more my heart can be towards Him and His ways.


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


