14
Oct
09

Eye Exam

eye_doctor_exam_chartFor the past several years, I have been experiencing what many people my age do…changes in eyesight.  Although I still have great vision at a distance, it seems my arm was getting too short to maintain focus on the tasks close at hand.  The result was to get glasses for reading.  I’m no good at keeping up with things like eyeglasses, so I opted for bifocals that  had magnification for close-up and merely clear glass for distance.  I then opted for contacts, or I should say a contact. I wear a contact in one eye for close up and nothing in the other for distance.  It is amazing how your brain can adjust and learn to focus using different eyes for different distances.  Such is the experience of one who is entering midlife.

It has been a little over a year since my last eye exam and, if history is any indication, I will likely see a little further decline in my eyesight the next time I visit the optometrist.  That’s just the way it goes.

These days, however, when I hear the words “How are your eyes?”, it means something entirely different.  You see, I can have a problem with my eyesight from a spiritual perspective as well…spiritual as it relates to the physical.

For me, as is true for many men, I have to constantly guard my eyes.  There are many tempting things in the world that vie for my attention.  From the TV to the Internet; from the gym to the checkout line at Wal-Mart; we are constantly bombarded with images that not only feed the flesh, but will also lead us down a slippery slope if we dwell there.  I know that and I must guard against it.  One of the ways I do so is through accountability.

I made a covenant with my eyes not to look with lust upon a young woman.  Proverbs 31:1

It is awesome to see how God has opened the door for this to continue as we have recently relocated.  Leaving the familiar surroundings of our former locale and the accountability that I had in place there, I was unsure how that would play out.  Thankfully, it has played out well.  Now, when I hear the words or speak the words, “How are your eyes?”, it is two brothers holding one another accountable for where our eyes and our minds are dwelling.  It’s my weekly “eye exam” and I know it’s just what the doctor ordered.

How do you handle this issue?  Is it a struggle for  you?  I would like to hear your thoughts.

0 Responses to “Eye Exam”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

eFlections Review

My Facebook


