21
Oct
09

Reason to Praise

Perhaps most of us don’t have to be reminded of reasons to praise the Lord.  It is when I am having a morning like I did yesterday (see yesterday’s post) that I may need to be reminded to praise rather than curse.  However, on most days I don’t have to say to myself, “You know, you have good reason to praise God.”  However, it does one good to take stock once in a while and remember why we praise Him.  It is not because we have to, or just because we are commanded to.  Although these are true (Phlippians 2:10-11).  Allow me to think through Psalm 150 on this subject.

sunset_silhouette1 Praise the LORD! Praise God in his heavenly dwelling; praise him in his mighty heaven! 2 Praise him for his mighty works; praise his unequaled greatness! 3 Praise him with a blast of the trumpet; praise him with the lyre and harp! 4 Praise him with the tambourine and dancing; praise him with stringed instruments and flutes! 5 Praise him with a clash of cymbals; praise him with loud clanging cymbals. 6 Let everything that lives sing praises to the LORD! Praise the LORD!

  1. I praise God because He IS God.  He is in His heavenly dwelling place.  He is above me in location, power, and wisdom.  A God I can explain and completely describe becomes no god at all.
  2. I praise God because He is the Expert.  We clamour to the self-help gurus and experts in their fields for the latest advice and guidance.  God isn’t a Johnny-come-lately in the plethora of experts that flood the pop psychology bookshelves and best-seller lists.  He has and does do mighty works.  He has no equal.  The most personal miracle He has performed was giving me eternal life.
  3. I praise God because it is fun.  I like music.  I’m a bit of a musician, although not accomplished.  Frankly it puzzles me when someone says they don’t like music.  I give them the freedom to have that dislike, but it puzzles me.  I believe God created music…specifically to give us a medium for praise that brings Him glory.  Music is fun.  I like to sing and I like to get into it.  If I were a little more coordinated, I would probably like to dance.  When I praise the Lord in song, I do it with gusto and I get into it.  I pretty much block everything else out and focus my attention on God.  I praise the Lord because it is fun.

So there you have it…some of the reasons that Psalm 150 reminds me of why I praise the Lord.

Now, the hardest part of this whole idea of praise starts after I close my laptop and walk across the Starbucks to the meeting I have coming up.  Will my life praise Him?  Will I naturally give God my praise as I acknowledge Him in the everyday motions of life?  I think if I spend sufficient time in personal worship and praise, there is bound to be an overflow for the rest of my day.  I pray it is so.

0 Responses to “Reason to Praise”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


