22
Oct
09

Which Way is Up?

Sitting in a coffee shop, I am overhearing a discussion of political and social cockpit issues ranging from the current government administration to the Vietnam War.  There are many opinions being expressed (and in a cordial manner, I’m glad to say)…some are expressive of hurts from the past, some are cynical, and some are intended to be hopeful.  But, the question that always enters my mind is, “What is the truth?”  I don’t think I can trust the news media to give me the truth.  Every person who expresses ideas, with our best effort, will find it imossible to be completely unbiased.  But, we can focus on the truth…if we can see it.

This reminds me of reading about the experiences of pilots in severe weather conditions who become disoriented.  When visibility is at zero, a pilot can’t determine by sight which way is up and which way is down.  Obviously, this is crucial to survival.  In this situation, he must rely completely on his instruments for knowing the direction to fly and to be oriented to the reality of his surroundings.  This is known as training with an Instrument Flight Rating.

What will help me to maneuver through the circumstances of my world?  How will I know which way is up?  I have to have an Instrument Flight Rating that will get me through the “fog.”  My instruments are:

Psalm 119:105

Your word is a lamp to my feet
And a light to my path.

James 1:5

If any of you lacks wisdom, flet him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.

Lord, help me to seek the ways that your Word shows me, and give me wisdom to walk in those ways through the fog of this world.

How do you find your way through the fog of our culture?  What things distract you, and what things do you use as a stepping stone to show the love of Christ?

0 Responses to “Which Way is Up?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


