26
Jan
10

The Hound of Heaven Pursues

I never tire of hearing the stories of how God has sought, rescued and changed lives in His loving grace.  In this guest post, my friend, Reece Carter, shares his story of God’s unrelenting pursuit of him in everlasting love.  As the title of this post indicates, this story alludes to the poem of the 19th Century English Poet, Francis Thompson, who described God’s love in graciously pursuing us.  I trust you will enjoy seeing God’s hand revealed as much as I did.

Not Left That Way:
A Testimony

God takes you as you are but He doesn’t leave you that way.

Before I was a believer I was carefree, and happy.    Then I became a follower of The Way and I was not happy anymore:  I was instead on fire. I worked in missions, I prayed in prayer groups, and gave away possessions on the spur of the moment. I even chose my profession with the prerequisite that it impact people for Christ.  It seemed that the spiritual world was my oyster – it was a bright and shining time.

For a year I bowled right along.  Surrounded by Christian friends I was insulated; these were heady times.   But I was ignorant of the realities of the faith.  When I got from under the protection of fellowship and left my Christian friends for a time, it wasn’t long before I was back to the old self.  I stopped praying, reading my Bible and fellowshipping.  From there it wasn’t long before I was carefree, and happy, again.  But it was a languishing, static, worldly happiness that left me wanting.  Always wanting.

Life came and went, I got married, graduated college, and got on with things.  By now, God was far from my mind, and I got my hands on everything. I drifted further away until I got my hands on something I hadn’t counted on:  A divorce, the attendant shattered relationships, and estrangement.  These were not heady times.

But God doesn’t leave you where you are.  King David was accepted and healed; the once and future apostle Paul was taken and improved upon.  God shows no favoritism:  He has rescued me as well.  Because of God’s ineffable and wholly illogical Grace I am being renewed.  Whereas I was once self- involved, I am now self-aware:  He has shown me my true identity, and it is in Christ.

This time I’m not on fire – I’m a controlled explosion.  I have a heart for the lost, I have a heart to dedicate my family to Him, and I have a heart to defend my faith in the public arena.  Why?  Because His love is the Hound of Heaven.  His love hounded me when I was estranged of Him, His love hounded me when I wanted nothing of Him, and His love hounded me when I knew I had no chance of ever having anything with Him.  Now that I am rescued and at peace I am not hounded by His love; rather, I am haunted by it.

No.  We are not left that way.  His Grace will not allow it.

How has God pursued you in His loving grace?

7 Responses to “The Hound of Heaven Pursues”


  1. January 26, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Interesting post. I am currently reading Francis Chan’s Forgotten God, and blogging all about it. I highly suggest the book. You should check out what I am writing @ http://whatsnextgod.com

  2. January 26, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Hey. Thanks for all the comments. I added you to my blogs I read section of my blog. I hope you don’t mind.

  3. February 9, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Wonderful words, brother..The time is now to wake up this sleepy church..Preach on Brother..GOd BLess

  4. March 20, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Hey – glad you appreciate this concept. The “Hound of Heaven” pursues us and is relentless. I find it overwhelming at times. His omnipresence is uncanny – if you are aware at all.

    I may have lost my audience with my song – “Jesus is Haunting Me.” The unchurched find it too “Christian” and the Churched find it sacrilegious or too metaphysical. Thanks for the post.

    BB


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


