06
Mar
10

A Day Like This

Today, the sun is shining, it will be in the mid-sixties and it is my day off.  I have a few “jobs” I need to accomplish today, but nothing too big.  It’s a good day.

Stepping out into the fresh air, I feel a hint of spring.  I needed this.  For some reason, this winter has seemed long, cold and dreary.  I think having to recover from shoulder surgery in December and the long process of rehab added to the dreariness of the season.  I found it hard to be motivated to be as active as I have been for the past several years.  I couldn’t work out at the gym like I’m used to, I didn’t run much at all since Thanksgiving.  I’ve lost some of the “fitness” that I had achieved over the past 4 years.  I think you get the picture.

As I got out into the day this morning, I was reminded of God’s faithfulness.  One of the joys of living in a part of the world where we experience the distinct cycle of the seasons, is that it reminds us that God is faithful and He is the giver of new life and rejuvenation.  Winter always turns to spring.  I am encouraged by this thought…at my lowest time I can always look to my Savior who gives life, grace and power.  His mercies are new every morning (Lam 3:22-24).  On a day like this, I soak in the sunshine and I think I realize I found the motivation to get back into my running and working out again.  More importantly, I’ve been reminded of the faithfulness of God…He is my Rock!

What tends to cause you to become discouraged?  What do you do to find encouragement?  How has God encouraged you recently?

0 Responses to “A Day Like This”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


