17
Mar
10

Christ in All Things

Being of Celtic descent, I am intrigued by things Irish and Scottish.  I recently watched a video that gives a brief history of St. Patrick’s work in reaching the people of Ireland and the resulting spritual impact upon Europe and the United States.  His heart for Christ and desire to win others to Him challenge us to have the same desire.  His famous “Breastplate Prayer” speaks of His unwavering dedication to Christ.  Though I do not hold him up as one to be idolized by any means, the words of his prayer inspire us to have a heart of such dedication…a heart that longs for Christ to be all and in all (Colossians 3:11).  This section of his prayer gives the gist of his heart…and could be an appropriate prayer for every believer to pray.

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me.
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

On this St. Patrick’s Day, instead of just focusing on wearing green, kissing one another because everyone is miraculously Irish, or endulging in alcohol, let’s determine that we’ll make Christ known through our living, while we depend completely upon Him for everything we need.  It could put a new spin on our St. Patty’s Day celebrations!  (St. Patrick’s entire prayer can be found here).

What are some practical ways you can think of to make Christ known through your life?  How has someone else touched you with their life of dedication to Christ?

1 Response to “Christ in All Things”


  1. 1 Blaine
    March 18, 2010 at 7:24 am

    May Christ revive us to our needful place; complete dependence upon Him….


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

eFlections Review

My Facebook


