19
Mar
10

What Goes Around, Comes Around

That saying is usually applied to the principle of reaping what you sow.  It is true that we reap what we sow as God’s justice is right and applicable to all of creation.  We may not see it in our timing, but it is sure.  However, I am thinking more in terms of parent-child relationships today as I think of the saying, “What goes around, comes around.”

I remember when I went away to college, I was excited about embarking on the new experiences and exploring life on my own.  I didn’t grasp the feelings and experiences from my parents’ perspective.  I didn’t appreciate it at all.  It was important for them (and me) that we talked weekly, or at least bi-weekly, on the phone.  However, I suppose I didn’t realize the importance of that for them.

As time went on, and I got married, the excitement of life continued with the development of my work and meeting new people in new places.  Life was full of new things and that kept us preoccupied most of the time.  We enjoyed visiting our families, but it wasn’t a huge deal when it was time to leave…for me.  It seemed a little extreme when we would leave my wife’s family to return home and my mother-in-law would cry.  I knew it would only be a matter of weeks or a few months until we saw them again and we’d be in touch weekly on the phone.  What’s the big deal, right?

Well…now I know what the big deal is.  Each time our daughter comes home to visit from college, her leaving gets a little harder for me.  I find myself missing her more and feeling sadder than the last time  I thought it would get easier, but so far it hasn’t.  When my wife and I were discussing this yesterday (on the day Emily returned to Nashville from her visit), she said, “If you think it’s hard now, wait until she’s married and there are grandchildren.”  That sounds like our parents.  I guess what goes around does come around.

The thing that I remind myself of though, is that I’m glad our daughter loves the Lord and is pursuing His plan for her life.  I’m glad she looks forward to coming home to spend time with us and wants to stay in touch with us on a regular basis.  I’m glad she still seeks advice from us and shares the details of her life and the journey she’s on.  I’m also glad that when she’s a state away or a continent away, she’s in God’s hands.  That brings me comfort.  I now know that is what has brought our parents comfort over the years.

Psalm 146:10

The Lord will reign forever. He will be your God, O Jerusalem, throughout the generations.

Praise the Lord!

It is cool to see the young lady our daughter is becoming.  I wouldn’t want her to be any other place than at the center of God’s will for her life.  If that takes her a distance from us, that is ok.  God will keep her in His hands and He will give me peace in the process.  Yep…REALLY MISSING your child when they are away from you isn’t extreme at all!

What have you seen in your parents that you now see in your own life?  How has God shown His faithfulness to comfort you in the midst of separation?

4 Responses to “What Goes Around, Comes Around”


  1. 1 Cindy Kinnick
    March 19, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Good Job, Sweetie!!!

  2. 2 Allen
    March 19, 2010 at 11:55 am

    We are leaving with ours on Sunday! The heart of a father (and mother) truly gets bigger doesn’t it! I know, I am surprised as well!

  3. 3 Donna Olson
    March 19, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I remember when Erin was at the end of her senior high school year, and she stood at the front of the congregation with the other seniors as they were recognized in the service, and Allen made the comment that things would never be quite the same between these students and their parents. Erin looked at me and smiled, and shook her head a little as if to say “no, Mom, nothing’s gonna change with US!” Well, things DID change. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, and there is such a sweetness in knowing your child is now your FRIEND, by mutual choice… but it’s not the same as having them home. I think the ‘roots thing’ is a lot easier than the ‘wings thing’ for us parents! Thanks for sharing your heart.

  4. March 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Thanks all for your comments. It is interesting that this family-oriented, very personal post has hit home with you. I appreciate your responses.

    Yes, Allen, a parent’s heart seems to grow bigger all along the way.

    Donna, there is something special about that “friend” relationship with our children. I’m cherishing that.

    Cindy, I know the things I wrote express your heart as well. I’m glad we’re there for one another through the process.


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


