29
Mar
10

Launch Into the Deep

Last night in our Life Group, the overwhelming topic that came to the surface in our sharing was the deep desire to have intimate communion with God in our personal walk with Him.  There are many distractions, hindrances, and road blocks that threaten to keep us from this depth of relationship.  After my time with the Lord this morning, I ran across a copy of the following prayer that expresses the heart of one seeking to “launch into the deep” with the Lord.  Perhaps it will be a blessing to you in your personal time with God.

A Prayer to Launch Into the Deep

Author Unknown

Call me, Lord, out from a shallow faith

Near the shore,

Which requires no risks and offers no rewards.

Call me to a deeper commitment to You.

~

I can hardly comprehen such a love–

Love that came so costly to You

And yet so freely to me.

~

Help me to look at You through the eyes

Of the thief on the cross.

And grant me the grace, I pray,

To see in Your eyes

The forgiveness he saw.

What hampers your intimacy with God?  What helps you to maintain a deep walk with Christ?  What has God been teaching you recently in your walk with Him?

1 Response to “Launch Into the Deep”


  1. April 17, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    More parallel thoughts. Thanks for sharing, and for seeking more, going deeper, not settling for a god of comfort and security, personal peace and affluence, as is so easy to do.
    http://ronirvine.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/buckets/
    http://ronirvine.wordpress.com/2009/01/31/the-plunge/


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

eFlections Review

My Facebook


