17
May
10

Intensity

in·ten·si·tyn /in-ˈten(t)-sət-ē/
1 : the quality or state of being intense, especially : extreme degree of strength, force, energy, or feeling

I have friends and acquaintances whose excitement levels are ramping up in anticipation of the upcoming World Cup.  From June 11 to July 11, their attention will constantly be turned to the battle for the best team in the World’s sport…soccer.  Some will take vacation days from work to watch the games; others will stream the games on their office computer while at work.  It will be the topic of conversation in many workplaces, sports bars and living rooms.  This interest and attention is a global phenomenon.  It is the world’s game.

Other than playing one intramural season in college, I’ve had very little experience or exposure to the game.  My daughter played softball growing up and had no interest in soccer.  So, my commentary is limited and, other than the names David Bekham and Pelé, I couldn’t name a soccer player.  True as that may be, I do have one observation that I believe to be true…soccer is perhaps the most intense team sport in the world.  Granted, sports such as MMA, auto racing and extreme competitions are high energy and intense, but all of these are individual competitive arenas in the sports world.


Think about it.  Baseball, America’s game, is a relatively slow-paced game with moments of excitement and athleticism.  Hockey and football are both sports of power and strength, with a bit of speed and moments of intensity added in on the ice rink.  Basketball is an energetic game with moments of intensity, but none of these equal the level of intensity that is found on the soccer fields of the world.  I know I will have many who disagreed with me on this, but, I think when one takes into consideration the attitude, passion and energy of the soccer game AND the fans, the trophy for intensity goes to the sport of Fútbol, hands down.

So what?  Only one thing…intensity is a desirable characteristic in life and faith.  I recently received training for a process we will engage at our church to assist Christ followers in finding their place in service and the body of Christ.  It employs 5 dynamics, several of which are typical…personality type, spiritual gift identification and abilities awareness.  However, one of the two other dynamics that is unique is “connecting passion with ministry.”  This is where the idea of intensity comes into play.  I think it is safe to say that we will be intense about those things for which we are passionate.

Where is your passion?  What do you care most about?  What drives you to action and where would you find the greatest satisfaction if you were doing exactly what you would most want to do as you follow Christ?  I know that passion and intensity begin with who we are in Christ and what He has called us to be.  He said:

“’And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’  The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  No other commandment is greater than these.”  Mark 12:30-31

Ask yourself, “What am I passionate about?  Where does my love lie?  What is Christ calling me to do in order to love Him and others with such passion, and deliver it with the intensity that rivals even the most exciting World Cup match?”  That should be a worldwide phenomenon.

What are you passionate about?  What drives you to intensity?

4 Responses to “Intensity”


  1. 1 Blaine
    May 17, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Thanks Randy,
    In a world full of opinions, criticisms, chaos and running around it is amazing how the one thing we are most subtle about is our ‘faith’.

  2. May 17, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Very true, my friend…something I continue to address in my life.

  3. May 25, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

eFlections Review

My Facebook


