19
Aug
10

Escape

My New Desktop Background…

I just decided to change my wallpaper in the middle of the month.  I’m always looking for variety and something different, I guess.  That’s just the way I roll 🙂  I like this image because it makes me think of a pleasant place that is inviting…a place to which I would enjoy escaping.  I love being in tropical settings.  The sun and heat are no problem with the ocean breeze blowing.  I am very invigorated when I spend time at the beach.  I love to run on the beach, to get in the water and just hang out in the sun.  I love the atmosphere of the seashore and how relaxing and tranquil it can be.  I can think of no place on earth that is any more rejuvenating to me than this.  The bridge in this image even makes me think of crossing over to a place of refuge.

I can’t always go to the beach.  It’s funny…when we lived 15 minutes from the beach for 12 years, I didn’t go that much.  Now that I live 15 hours away, I want to go so badly.  Unfortunately, I can’t.  I can, however, always find retreat and refuge that is readily available and much more satisfying.

Psalm 91:1-2

1 Those who live in the shelter of the Most High

will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

2  This I declare about the Lord:

He alone is my refuge, my place of safety;

he is my God, and I trust him.

Daily, I can escape the race of life and the concerns of ministry to find refuge and escape in the presence of God.  The Lord awaits me eagerly as I come before Him and just commune in His presence.  When I neglect to do so, I forfeit that peace and contentment He brings.  When I fail to stop for that refreshing refuge, I find myself more tense, less grace-giving and merciful and more oblivious to the needs of those around me.

I need an escape…and it’s as easy as being alone with my Lord.

How do you spend your time in refuge with God?  What tends to stand in the way of that priority for you?  What have your learned through you time with Him?


2 Responses to “Escape”


  1. 1 Christina
    August 19, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I love the beach as well! Infact, we had plans to go this Summer (to the one we were married on). I wanted to take our son for the first time. The oil kept us away and I just couldn’t stand it. I could hear the waves, smell the air, feel the sand under my feet….just calling me. Or was it an intense desire to feel something or someONE else?
    How can someone look across a magnificient ocean and not feel and see God? How Lovely, Powerful and Mighty! His nature that surrounds us is where I seek my refuge. Whether it’s at the beach, on a mountain top, or looking out the window to the hills across the way, He is there. His Creation amazes me! It’s the perfect place to sit, be quiet and still and thank the Lord, or to be loud, sing and worship Him. He is always there.
    This Summer, I didn’t get to go to my beach, but I did look out my front window. I did spend beautiful time with my family (another of His perfect creations) and I did experience God and take refuge in Him.

    • August 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      Thanks, Christina, for sharing. God’s beautiful creation is indeed one of the many ways we can experience Him here in this life. I am most peace-filled when I’m in His creation and enjoying His presence.


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


