20
Sep
10

Trusting a God Bigger than the Unknown

Yesterday, I had the privilege to return to the congregation we left 15 months ago to preach for a special facility dedication service.  It was great to see old friends and enjoy the worship and fellowship.  My message, from Joshua 4:1-11, was a challenge to bring glory to God as we “stack the stones of life.”  I challenged the church to glorify God because He’s faithful, glorify Him because He’s the Great Providor and to glorify Him for the sake of future generations.  One of the things I told them was that we need to trust God and ask for Him to do what we could never do for ourselves.  This requires that we trust Him for the unknown and the “next thing,” whatever that may be.  When we do, He gets the glory for what is accomplished.

When I prepared and wrote that sermon, I had no idea that I would be changing my travel plans on the spur of the moment to fly to St. Croix, VI, this morning.  I received a call from one of our pastors there who not only pastors the church, but operates a school as well.  Tragically, they lost one of their high school students to an accident that has created a traumatic situation for their faculty and students.  The pastor requested that I come down to provide grief counseling.

Now I get to live out what I preached.  I have to trust God for the unknown…stepping out and not knowing for sure what is next.

It is my pleasure to see God at work as I trust Him.  May He be glorified in all of this and may His Spirit minister healing to hearts and lives.

How have you seen God come through when you trusted Him for the unknown and “risky?”

0 Responses to “Trusting a God Bigger than the Unknown”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eFlections Review

My Facebook


