13
Oct
10

A Legacy of Faith

I’m in Missouri today to be with my wife and her family.  We are together to comfort one another and celebrate the life of my wife’s mother who passed away on Monday morning.  She was a faithful and committed believer, so we find comfort in knowing that she is with her Savior, having spent the past several years debilitated by her disease.  She suffers no more.  We will miss her, but her legacy of faith will certainly outlive her in the lives of her family and friends.  My life is enriched to be a part of this awesome family that “took me in” over 25 years ago.  The things that my mother-in-law has taught me through her words and life over these years are invaluable.  Here are just a few things that I have learned from her.

  1. A life of faithfulness to Jesus is the most important thing for which to strive. She’s not the only one who has demonstrated this to me, but she certainly is one who has lived it out for all to see.
  2. Family is important and must be cherished and supported. She valued family gatherings and made sure they happened with special traditions.  She made sure to include everyone from her own children to all of the in-laws.
  3. Love is to be demonstrated. This may be through a loving embrace or a word of exhortation.  She lived for those times to be together and share with family the beauty of one another.
  4. Balance is essential. Although I did not know her in her earlier years, I did know her while she still worked outside the home.  I found that she could operate a business as an entrepreneur and yet her family never suffered for lack of her attention and care.  She knew how to balance life with priorities that always put first things first.
  5. Everyone needs encouragement. She cared about those around her.  She would give a word of encouragement and had a sense of humor that could give you a smile.  She knew how to lift your spirits and make you feel welcomed and valued.

These are just a few of the things that Letha Fry taught me.  She leaves a legacy of faith that will stay with me for a lifetime and, I’m happy to say, will impact the next generation through my daughter’s life as well.

Who has impacted your life through a legacy of faith?  What are you doing to leave a legacy to those who will follow you?

6 Responses to “A Legacy of Faith”


  1. 1 Blaine
    October 13, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Indeed, may God grant us others who will leave such a legacy. We are in need and the supply is drying up… Thanks for sharing Randy…

  2. 3 Faye Boyd
    October 13, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Thank you Randy! That was beautiful and so kind and I know she was so special to her family and all that knew her. Just look at what she has left behind! A beautiful and committed family that loves OUR GOD! What more could a mother ask for?

    Love, Faye

  3. October 13, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Randy, my prayers are with your family. My grandmother has had the most impact on my walk with Christ. I hope to continue exemplifying Christ before my sons.

    Be encouraged.


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

eFlections Review

My Facebook


