19
Oct
10

It’s Your Turn

I enjoy writing.  I may not be the best writer in the world, but when it clicks, it feels good to express my ideas in a way that connects…or at least connects my thoughts to reality and relevance.  That’s my aim anyway.

Sometimes, however, I feel like a talking head.  I’m afraid I appear to be a verbal faucet that spouts off and doesn’t invite response, reply and rebuttal.  I don’t want that.  Sooo…to prove my point, I’m simply going to ask a question.  It’s your turn to speak up and share what’s on your mind!  I want to hear you…I really do!!  Let’s get some interaction going here.

QUESTION:

What drives your passion?  Where do you get your inspiration?

6 Responses to “It’s Your Turn”


  1. October 19, 2010 at 7:59 am

    It helps to have people that encourage you to keep posting. John at Tentblogger has provided a great platform for discovering the why’s of blogging.

  2. October 19, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Hmmm. Consistent devotions. Consistent is the key. When I’m inconsistent (all too often), there is no passion/inspiration. I have recently over hauled my schedule to allow for what I hope will be more consistent. So far it has been very refreshing!

    Good books, podcasts, and blogs from people who are in similar trenches. I find encouragement from people who have been where I’m at and have achieved the goals that I hope to achieve. I try to read and listen to those that stretch me beyond my comfort zone, and push me to be more like Christ. Recently, I have found passion/inspiration from the books Crazy Love, Radical, Family Driven Faith, Church in the Making, and Ed Stetzer’s church planting book (can’t remember the title).

    • October 19, 2010 at 12:22 pm

      Awesome, Brian. Your point about time with the Lord is critical. I see the correlation in my life as well. I definitely think anything that stretches me is a powerful tool, as well. Thanks for sharing, bro.!

  3. October 25, 2010 at 7:59 am

    I get inspired to write about things I experience. I’m a new pastor, so I’m learning things all the time about how the church operates, my role in the church, and how I’m to carry out the functions of a pastor. It’s a lot different from what I expected. That’s where most of my inspiration comes from, although I blog about other things as well.

    • October 25, 2010 at 8:24 am

      New experiences certainly provide fodder for thought and writing. Being in the pastorate provides unique experiences that give us insight and sometimes challenge our thinking. I’ve learned a great deal about life and people over the years as a minister. Do you find that writing about these experiences helps you process the information in a way that is valuable for personal growth? Thanks for commenting!


Leave a Reply

GET CONNECTED

Click Here to Subscribe

Subscribe via RSS & Email - Click Here!

My Tweets

eFlections Review

My Facebook


